The Most Memorable Film’s “Closing Lines” (Part 1)


Hello Guys! Kali ini saya akan membahas mengenai dialog penutup dalam sebuah film. Setiap film maker, khususnya penulis naskah, pasti menginginkan setiap penonton untuk bisa mengingat dialog akhir dalam filmnya. Dialog penutup ini harus dibuat sesederhana mungkin namun tetap bermakna. Demikian juga dengan pilihan kata demi kata mesti disusun semenarik dan secerdas mungkin agar mudah diingat. Here is my list of the most memorable film’s closing lines in alphabet. Check these out:)))

(Diurut berdasarkan abjad judul film. Enjoy it🙂

1. Black Swan (Darren Aronofsky, 2010)

Nina Sayers:  “I was perfect…”

2.  Brothers (Jim Sheridan, 2009)

Sam Cahill: “Who was that said only the dead have seen the end of war? I have seen the end of war. The question is…how do I go on living?”


3. Confessions A.K.A Kokuhaku (Tetsuya Nakashima, 2010)

Yuko Moriguchi: “This is the first step toward your redemption..Just messing with you.”

4. Good Will Hunting (Gus Van Sant, 1997)

Sean Maguire: “Son of a bitch. He stole my line.”

5. Fight Club (David Fincher, 1999)

Narrator: “You met me at a very strange time of my life.”

6. Memoirs Of Geisha (Rob Marshall, 2005)

Mameha: “You cannot say to the sun “more sun,” or to the rain “less rain.”To a man Geisha can only be half a wife. We are the wives of nightfall. And yet to learn of kindness after so much unkindness. To understand that a little girl with more courage than she knew would find that her prayers were answered. Can that not be called happiness? After all, these are not the memoirs of an empress, nor of a queen, these are memoirs of another kind.”

7. No Country For Old Men (Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, 2007)

Ed Tom Bell: “And in the dream I knew that he was goin’ on ahead and he was fixin’ to make a fire somewhere out there in all that dark and all that cold. And I knew that whenever I got there, he’d be there. And then I woke up.”

8. Road To Perdition (Sam Mendes, 2002)

Michael Sullivan, Jr.: “I saw then that my father’s only fear was that his son would follow the same road. And that was the last time I ever held a gun. People always thought I grew up on a farm. And I guess, in a way, I did. But I lived a lifetime before that, in those six weeks on the road in the winter of 1931. When people ask me if Michael Sullivan was a good man, or if there was just no good in him at all, I always give the same answer. I just tell them… he was my father.”

 

9.  Spiderman (Sam Raimi, 2002)

Peter Parker: “Whatever life holds in store for me, I will never forget these words: ‘With great power comes great responsibility.’ This is my gift. My curse. Who am I? I’m Spider-Man.”

10. The Bourne Supremacy (Paul Grengrass, 2004)

 Jason Bourne (To Pam Landy on phone): “Get some rest, Pam. You look tired.”

11. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (David Fincher, 2008)

Benjamin Button : “Some people are born to sit by a river. Some get struck by lightning. Some have an ear for music.  Some are artists. Some swim. Some know buttons. Some are mothers. And some people… dance.”

12. The Dark Night (Christopher Nolan, 2008)

Bruce Wayne:Because he’s the hero Gotham deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we’ll hunt him because he can take it. Because he’s not our hero. He’s a silent guardian, a watchful protector. A dark knight.”

13. The Green Mile (Frank Darabont, 1999)

Old Paul Edgecomb: “We each owe a death – there are no exceptions – but, oh God, sometimes the Green Mile seems so long.”

14.  The Lovely Bones (Peter Jackson, 2009)

Susie Salmon: “My name is Salmon. Just like the fish. My name is Susie. I was 14 years when I was murdered. On December 6 1973. I was here a minute. And then I was gone. I wish you all a long and happy life.”

15.  The Shawshank Redemption (Frank Darabont, 1994)

Red: “I find I am so excited I can barely sit still or hold a thought in my head. I think it’s the excitement only a free man can feel, a free man at the start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain. I hope I can make it across the border. I hope to see my friend and shake his hand. I hope the Pacific is as blue as it has been in my dreams. I hope.”

 16. The Thin Red Line (Terrence Malik, 1998)

Private Edward P. Train: “Where is it that we were together? Who were you that I lived with? The brother. The friend. Darkness, light. Strife and love. Are they the workings of one mind? The features of the same face? Oh, my soul. Let me be in you now. Look out through my eyes. Look out at the things you made. All things shining.”

17.  Udaan AKA The Flight (Vikramaditya Motwane, 2010)

Rohan ‘s letter (to his abusive and oppressive father):  “I’m taking Arjun with me. If I leave him here he will become another version of you. One of you is enough for this world. You’ll never understand why this happened. Because it’a world you’ve never known or experienced…Love. Please don’t try to find us. If you come within a 100 kilometers of us, the police will know you beat Arjun. Legally, it’s a criminal offence. Arjun can be a lot more than just your slave. He needs a family, not a cage. He needs a future, which I will make sure he gets, whatever the cost. Congratulations on your new wife, your new daughter, your new life. Your son, Rohan.”

18.   Unforgiven (Clint Eastwood, 1993)

 Will Munny: “You better bury Ned right!… Better not cut up, nor otherwise harm no whores… or I’ll come backand kill every one of you sons of bitches.”

 

 

To be continued…

–HW–

One thought on “The Most Memorable Film’s “Closing Lines” (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: My Most Favorite Film’s Closing Line (Part 3) « My Film Record

Leave a Reply :D

