The Most Memorable Film’s “Closing Lines” (Part 2)


Berikut adalah lanjutan artikel saya sebelumnya tentang kalimat penutup dalam sebuah film yang paling saya kenang. Enjoy it:)

1. 21 Grams (Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu, 2003)

How many lives do we live? How many times do we die? They say we all lose 21 grams… at the exact moment of our death. Everyone. And how much fits into 21 grams? How much is lost? When do we lose 21 grams? How much goes with them? How much is gained? How much is gained? Twenty-one grams. The weight of a stack of five nickels. The weight of a hummingbird. A chocolate bar. How much did 21 grams weigh?”

~Paul Rivers

2. 3 Idiots (Rajkumar Hirani, 2009)

“Baba Ranchhodas used to say rightly kids…. be self-efficeient.. self-efficient, then success will come behind you.”

~Farhan Qureshi

 

3. Adaptation (Spike Jonze, 2002)

“I have to go right home. I know how to finish the script now. It ends with Kaufman driving home after his lunch with Amelia, thinking he knows how to finish the script. Shit, that’s voice-over. McKee would not approve. How else can I show his thoughts? I don’t know. Oh, who cares what McKee says? It feels right. Conclusive. I wonder who’s gonna play me. Someone not too fat. I liked that Gerard Depardieu, but can he not do the accent? Anyway, it’s done. And that’s something. So: “Kaufman drives off from his encounter with Amelia, filled for the first time with hope.” I like this. This is good.”

~Charlie Kaufman

 4. August Rush (Kirsten Sheridan, 2007)

“The music is all around us. All you have to do…..is listen.”

~August Rush

5. American Beauty (Sam Mendes, 1999 )

“I had always heard your entire life flashes in front of your eyes the second before you die. First of all, that one second isn’t a second at all, it stretches on forever, like an ocean of time… For me, it was lying on my back at Boy Scout camp, watching falling stars… And yellow leaves, from the maple trees, that lined our street… Or my grandmother’s hands, and the way her skin seemed like paper… And the first time I saw my cousin Tony’s brand new Firebird… And Janie… And Janie… And… Carolyn. I guess I could be pretty pissed off about what happened to me… but it’s hard to stay mad, when there’s so much beauty in the world. Sometimes I feel like I’m seeing it all at once, and it’s too much, my heart fills up like a balloon that’s about to burst… And then I remember to relax, and stop trying to hold on to it, and then it flows through me like rain and I can’t feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life… You have no idea what I’m talking about, I’m sure. But don’t worry… you will someday.”

~Lester Burnham

 6. Buried (Rodrigo Cortes, 2010)

“I’m sorry, Paul. I’m so sorry.”

 ~Dan

 7. Cold Mountain (Anthony Minghella, 2003)

[voiceover] I looked once more down Sally’s well, and this time there was nothin’ there to haunt me. Just clouds. Clouds, and then… sun.

~Ada Monroe

 8. Hanna (Joe Wright, 2011)

“I  just miss your heart.”

~Hanna

 9. Inglorious Basterds (Quentin Tarantino, 2009)

“You know somethin’ Uitivich, I think this just might be my masterpiece.”

~Lt. Aldo

 10. Kill Bill Vol. 1 (Quentin Tarantino, 2003)

One more thing, Sofie… is she aware her daughter is still alive?

~Bill

 11. Memento (Christopher Nolan, 2000)

“Now… where was I?”

~Leonard Shelby

12.  My Sister’s Keeper (Nick Cassavetes, 2009)

“Once upon a time I thought I was put on Earth to save my sister. And in the end, I couldn’t do it. I realize now that wasn’t the point. The point was, I had a sister. She was fantastic. One day, I’m sure I’ll see her again. But until then our relationship continues.”

~Anna Fitzgerald.

 13.  Remember Me (Allen Coulter, 2010)

“Whatever you do in life will be insignificant, but it’s very important that you do it, because nobody else will. Like when someone comes into your life, and half of you says, “You’re nowhere near ready,” but the other half says, “Make her yours forever.” Michael, Caroline asked me what I would say if I knew you could hear me. I said I do know. I love you. God, I miss you. And I forgive You.”

~Tyler Hawkins

 14.  The Beach (Danny Boyle, 2000)

“And me, I still believe in paradise. But now at least I know it’s not some place you can look for, ’cause it’s not where you go. It’s how you feel for a moment in your life when you’re a part of something, and if you find that moment… it lasts forever…”

~Richard

 15. The Next Three Days (Paul Haggis, 2010)

“You really thought you were going to find it…”

~Detective Collero

 16. The Terminal (Steven Spielberg, 2004)

“I am going home.”

~Viktor Navorski

 17. The Social Network (David Fincher, 2010)

“You’re not an asshole, Mark, you’re just trying really hard to be one.”

~Marylin Delpy (to Mark Zuckerberg)

to be conitnued,,

–HW–

5 thoughts on “The Most Memorable Film’s “Closing Lines” (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: My Most Favorite Film’s Closing Line (Part 3) « My Film Record

Leave a Reply :D

