The Amazing Spider-Man: Not So Amazing,,


The Amazing Spider-Man (Marc Webb, 2012)

I saw it three days ago without any high expectation. Basically, I expect something amazing, just like what it’s called. That’s no reason. I am actually a huge fans of Spider-man. Yeah, it’s my most favorite superhero all the time. He’s just an ordinary good guy who (un)lucky to get a spider bite. How his ordinary life gets influence and changes when he must accept a new responsibility with his new power which he doesn’t ask for it, is really interesting for me. Just for a record, we won’t listen line “With great power comes great responsibility” in this reboot anymore.

Like what I said that I didn’t have some high expectation because of the director and the writer. I don’t think that they have a good capability enough to satisfy the audience or huge fans of Spider-Man, just like me. And my prediction is not wrong.

Let’s review it straightly. I don’t need to tell you about the story. Yeah, this is different but the main story is still same. Although there is a tagline “the untold story begins”, I still don’t get the best answer about what happened to Peter’s parents. This is one of the weakness of this film, the script. it’s not delivered well. At first, I thought I disagree about the choice of James Vanderbilt as a script writer. This is not his specialty. What a weak script. It didn’t interest me at all since the beginning. It made me feel boring for 2 hours.

The high school life isn’t described well. It contains a constant mainstream and doesn’t offer something fresh. The romance scene is not bad generally, but some part is forced too much and it feels to fast. The identifying process of being Spider-Man is told pretty well at the first, but it’s get  short at the part of creating the costumes. That’s too bad. The process of creating The Lizard is quite strange too. It’s too fast for him to be an evil directly as he transforms into lizard.

The second weakness is the direction. Nothing’s impressive. There isn’t some surprise. All is predictable. It’s too awful.

The action scene is wonderful as usual. The scene that makes me laugh is when Stan-Lee appears as a cameo in a library in the middle of the battle between Spider-Man and the Lizard.

But I like one point. Webb can create portrait of  imperfect Spider-Man. I like how a  Spidey (Peter) looks more human. I guess it’s natural that sometimes, He needs a show off his power, even it’s out of his control. Sometimes, in his anger, He can say a bad f#cking words. I like those parts.

The only power of this film is Andrew Garfield. Totally the best choice for Peter Parker role. He enters the spidey character into deeper and real. Wow..I hate to say, but I think  he is better than Mr. Maguire. What a stunning performance. I remember my first impression on him is in John Crowley’s Boy A (2007), and it went on to Mark Romanek’s Never Let Me Go (2010). It got better in David Fincher’s The Social Network (2010). Nothing special about the other cast, including Emma Stone.

Oh..almost forget. I like the score. It’s composed by James Horner. It brings more color to support every scene of this film. I can say this is better than Danny Elfman’s.

Overall, it’s fun to watch this one. It’s not great or amazing like what it’s called, but it’s just…..fun. If there is the sequel, I’ll wait for something surprise. Irrfan Khan doesn’t take the part much in this film, I hope he will.

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/atCfTRMyjGU&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

–HW (6.9/10)–

Quote Choices:

Peter Parker: We all have secrets: the ones we keep… and the ones that are kept from us.

Peter Parker: Ahem, you know, if you’re going to steal cars, don’t dress like a car thief.
Car Thief: You a cop?
Peter Parker: You seriously think I’m a cop in a skintight red and blue suit?

4 thoughts on “The Amazing Spider-Man: Not So Amazing,,

  1. Good review. One of our reviewers thought that Emma Stone was the best actor,not Garfield. However, he agrees that their romance was a little forced, especially the scene of a thousand stutters by Garfield. We would agree that the Stan Lee cameo was probably his best.

  2. Well, I believe that everyone has their mind and that is very fine. For me, Emma Stone still can’t leave her image totally as a bad girl in her previous job, like Zombieland, Easy A, or Crazy,Stupid,Love. I don’t feel any passion through her expressions in this film. It’s still kind of comedy more than serious romance drama.
    About Garfield, like what I said that he is the best choice only for this rold. He offers great performance and can enter the character into deeper and more human (imperfect Spider-Man). It would have been more complete if it had better script and direction.
    Thanks for your comment anyway. I really appreciate it very much.

  3. If you were a true spidey fan. You would know that the world depicted is actually an alternate reality which sony took into interpretation. The house of m, a world created by the scarlet witch, who happens to be magnetos daughter, depicts a story in which he chooses gwen over mary jane, and how richard parker was killed in his plane crash because he had a suit that would cure cancer and that was the symbiote venom. It actually was an amazing film if you understand that concept.

    • Well..yeah Nick, I do agree with you. That is a good concept generally. You mean the original story from the comic, don’t you? But I don’t think that it’s transformed into the film pretty well. The execution doesn’t work because the script is very weak. So is the direction. The thing what you said didn’t look like what I watched in cinema four days ago. I guess this is different, not so deeper and clear like what you mean. At least, that is what I thought after watching this reboot.

Leave a Reply :D

