The Dark Knight Rises: Over Spectacular


The Dark Knight Rises (Christopher Nolan, 2012)

Finally, I watched Mr. Nolan’s The Dark Knight Rises, my most anticipated film in 2012, yesterday at the cinema. What an amazing experience!! One of best film I’ve ever seen. It’s definitely beyond our imagination. This one is a phenomenal achievement for a kind of superhero film. Of course, I had an extremely high expectation and it was delivered. Well, I got more actually.

Christopher Nolan is one of the most genius director and screenwriter ever. He is truly admirable. In the last trilogy of Batman, he can develop the character of Bruce Wayne more complex, deeper, and realistic. How a superhero can be afraid of a powerful built villain because he isn’t strong and young anymore. He just can’t deny it. That is very realistic, but he realizes exactly that people of Gotham always need him. So, he just ignores his afraid and his pain, then he follows his deepest heart to exist back, but he must be ready to face the real fact which is becoming his biggest challenge.

Christopher Nolan

Mr. Nolan can create and combine between emotional depth drama, spectacular action, and incredible special effects into one complete package. It’s written brilliantly. There are so many characters here, but their parts are told very well according to the right portion. There are so many surprises, not only from the plot but also the development of the characters. The dialogue is very high class, smart, and to the point. Although it has a running time of almost 3 hours, it never becomes dull. It always keeps your tension awake. Every scene is effective and worth. The actions sequences are intense that can make your adrenaline release continuously, even some looks too crowded and over spectacular.

The casts are flawless. They all do a good job. It’s kind of reunion of Inception casts (Michael Caine, Tom Hardy, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Marion Cotillard, and even Cillian Murphy).

Christian Bale is remarkable. He can build and explore the character of Bruce Wayne into deeper and more emotional. Tom Hardy’s performance is quite terrifying. His acting as Bane is totally haunting and intimidating through the creepy voice, his brutality, and an apparatus in his face. Anna Hathaway gives something fresh and fun in this film. Gotham city now can be a good place to build a feminine woman into a powerful one who doesn’t believe in law and justice. She is ultimately awesome.

Michael Caine offers something bigger and more different in this chance. He brings this film to the depth level. Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s performance is a scene stealer. I thought he is no body and gives no important role for the plot of this film. As the time is running, his performance is getting better. He can execute one of the most important role in this film pretty well.

Marrion Cotillard is stunning. At first, I thought this character is underdeveloped very well and I know now why. What a brilliant screenplay. Hat’s off for the writers. Oh almost forget, her last execution is really disturbing me, considering she is an Oscar winner class. If you’ve already watched this, maybe you will understand what I mean.

 

I love the score very much. Thanks to Hans Zimmer. I always underestimate his job earlier in Michael Bay’s, always too melodramatic and heroic for me. But he really explores his capability to compose the different great score every time Mr. Nolan asks him. First time, I was impressed with his job in Inception. Now, this is really so much better. This score now is so intense, raw, loud, and breathtaking. It’s totally match for every single great scene that Mr. Nolan creates. By the way, I’ve downloaded  the score completely one day after watching this.

Overall, it will take your breath away definitely. I remembered that all audiences in cinema were quite enough not to talk each other and gave a total focus to the screen. This was really different when I saw The Amazing Spider-Man couple weeks ago.

This film totally hypnotized me since the start to the end. I forgot to drink and eat my snack during the film. Mr. Nolan really can satisfy all audience. With some high budget of production, he creates the best superhero film ever that crosses the limit of imagination. I don’t know why, although this is one of the best, I sometime think that The Dark Knight had a better execution. Yeah, this one has more and more, more ambitions, more actions, more special effects, more characters, more stories, more durations, and finally it becomes over spectacular. I don’t mind about that generally, considering this is the final chapter of Batman trilogy. Mr. Nolan must have some ambitions and some huge duty to satisfy any Batman fans, and he did it. I will miss it. A lot.

–HW (8.8/10)–

Quote Choices:

Catwoman: My mother warned me about getting into cars with strange men.
Batman: This isn’t a car.

Alfred: [to Bruce] I won’t bury you. I buried enough members of the Wayne family.

Lucius Fox: I call him The Bat and yes Mr. Wayne it does come in black.
Bruce Wayne: Now you’re just showing off.

Jim Gordon: [lying in a hospital bed] We were in this together, and then you were gone. Now this evil… rises. The Batman has to come back.
Bruce Wayne: What if he doesn’t exist any more?
Jim Gordon: He must… he must…

3 thoughts on “The Dark Knight Rises: Over Spectacular

    • Thanks. So is yours. I’m sure we both really enjoyed the film very much. Totally curious about what Mr. Nolan’s next project will be. Have a good time.

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 All-Time Favorite Films | My Film Record

Leave a Reply :D

