My Most Favorite Film’s Closing Line (Part 3)


This is a final scene from my favorite film. Can you guess what film it is?

Now, I would like to share part 3 of my most favorite film’s closing line. If you don’t read the previous part yet, you can check it here and here. It will be better if you have already watched these films before.

1. Animal Kingdom (David Michôd, 2010)

“It’s a crazy fucking world…”

~Andrew ‘Pope’ Cody

2. Atonement (Joe Wright, 2007)

“So, my sister and Robbie were never able to have the time together they both so longed for… and deserved. Which ever since I’ve… ever since I’ve always felt I prevented. But what sense of hope or satisfaction could a reader derive from an ending like that? So in the book, I wanted to give Robbie and Cecilia what they lost out on in life. I’d like to think this isn’t weakness or… evasion… but a final act of kindness. I gave them their happiness.”

~ Briony

3. Flags of Our Fathers (Clint Eastwood, 2006)

(Voice over) I finally came to the conclusion that he maybe he was right. Maybe there’s no such thing as heroes. Maybe there are just people like my dad. I finally came to understand why they were so uncomfortable being called heroes. Heroes are something we create, something we need. It’s a way for us to understand what’s almost incomprehensible, how people could sacrifice so much for us, but for my dad and these men, the risks they took, the wounds they suffered, they did that for their buddies. They may have fought for their country but they died for their friends. For the man in front, for the man beside him, and if we wish to truly honor these men we should remember them the way they really were, the way my dad remembered them.

~ James Bradley

4. Gie (Riri Reza, 2005)

(Voice over) Nasib terbaik adalah tidak pernah dilahirkan. Yang kedua, dilahirkan, tapi mati muda. Dan yang tersial adalah berumur tua. Berbahagialah mereka yang mati muda. Makhluk kecil, kembalilah dari tiada ke tiada. Berbahagialah dalam ketiadaanmu.

~ Gie

5. Never Let Me Go (Mark Romanek, 2010)

(Voice over) I come here and imagine that this is the spot where everything I’ve lost since my childhood is washed out. I tell myself, if that were true, and I waited long enough then a tiny figure would appear on the horizon across the field and gradually get larger until I’d see it was Tommy. He’d wave. And maybe call. I don’t know if the fantasy go beyond that, I can’t let it. I remind myself I was lucky to have had any time with him at all. What I’m not sure about, is if our lives have been so different from the lives of the people we save. We all complete. Maybe none of us really understand what we’ve lived through, or feel we’ve had enough time.

~ Kathy

 

6. Nine (Rob Marshall, 2011)

“Action!”

~ Guido Contini

7. Perfect Sense (David Mackenzie, 2011)

(Voice over) It’s dark now. But they feel each others’ breath. And they know all they need to know. They kiss. And they feel each others’ tears on their cheeks. And if there had been anybody left to see them, then they would look like normal lovers, caressing each others’ faces, bodies close together, eyes closed, oblivious to the world around them. Because that is how life goes on. Like that.

~ Susan

8. Se7en (David Fincher, 1995)

(Voice over) Ernest Hemingway once wrote: ‘The world is a fine place and worth fighting for.’ I agree with the second part.

~ Somerset

9. The Prestige (Christopher Nolan, 2006)

(Voice over) Now you’re looking for the secret. But you won’t find it because of course, you’re not really looking. You don’t really want to work it out. You want to be fooled.

~ Cutter

 

10. The Sea Inside a.k.a Mar Adentro (Alejandro Amenabar, 2004)

(Voice over) Out to sea. Out to sea, and in the weightlessness of the deep where dreams come true, two souls unite to fulfill a single wish. Your gaze and mine, over and over like an echo, repeating silently: “Deeper, and deeper,” beyond everything that is flesh and blood. But I always awaken and I always wish for death, my lips forever entangled in your hair.

~ Ramón Sampedro

11. Thank You for Smoking (Jason Reitman, 2006)

“Michael Jordan plays basket ball. Charles Manson kills people. I talk. Everyone has a talent.”

~ Nick Naylor

12. The Grey (Joe Carnahan, 2012)

(Voice over) Once more into the fray. Into the last good fight I’ll ever know. Live and die on this day. Live and die on this day.

~ Ottway

13. There Will be Blood (Paul Thomas Anderson, 2007)

“I’m finished.”

~ Daniel Plainview

14. Top Secret: Wai Roon Pun Lan a.k.a The Billionaire (Songyos Sukmakana, 2011)

Do not give up whatever happens, if we give up then it’s over.

~ Top Ittipat

15. Up in the Air (Jason Reitman, 2009)

(Voice over) Tonight most people will be welcomed home by jumping dogs and quealing kids. Their spouses will ask about their day and tonight they’ll sleep. The stars will wheel forth from their daytime hiding places.And one of those lights,slightly brighter than the rest,will be my wing tip passing over.

~ Ryan Bingham

16. Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara a.k.a You Won’t Get Second Life (Zoya Akhtar, 2011)

If you’re carrying

your restlessness in your heart

You are alive

 

If you’re carrying

the lightning of dreams in your eyes

You are alive

 

Like a gust of wind,

learn to live free

Learn to flow like

the waves that make a sea

 

Let your arms be wide open,

to every moment you meet

May every moment gift you

a new sight to greet

 

If you’re carrying

your wonder in your eyes

You are alive

 

If you’re carrying

your restlessness in your heart

You are ALIVE

 

~Imran

So, what is yours?

–HW–

~

Leave a Reply :D

