Moonrise Kingdom: Simply Adorable


Moonrise Kingdom (Wes Anderson, 2012)

Two times Academy Award nominee, Wes Anderson, finally comes back after his first hilarious animated film, Fantastic Mr. Fox, in almost three years ago. Now, he presents a new motion picture that will make you totally awe, smile, or even laugh. If you are a huge fan of him, I bet you won’t miss it, just like me.

Though this has big ensemble and high quality cast, as all his films, such as Bill Murray, Bruce Willis, Frances Mcdormand, Edward Norton, Tilda Swinton, and Jason Schwartzman (unfortunately, no more Owen Wilson), it’s not about their story now. At this chance, Anderson wants to tell us about how sweet and innocent a childhood is.

Set in an island of New England on 1960, it tells about a young girl and boy, Suzy (Kara Hayward) and Sam (Jared Gilman), who are falling in love because of their same “miserable” dysfunction family situation and decide to run away together. Then, their adventure is begun. Actually, I can tell you that all is a childhood story for an adult.

Basically, the story is quite simple. It often happens in every family and every kid. What makes it more special is how to tell the whole story. Anderson’s style is always interested me. I admire his capability and his skill to make every theme so much fun and totally enjoyable. In his film now, the reality story can be executed into child-cartoon like dreaming and it’s charming, cute, and sweet. Possibly, this is his most fantastic direction so far.

At the beginning, I almost know nothing about this film. I don’t know what it’s all about and the review about it. I predict this is about another adventure of people, just like The Darjeeling Limited or the story about a big unique family. I just believe that Wes Anderson is one of the most talented director. So, I just go on watching it without any expectation, a little bit high expectation actually. I found myself excited in the first ten minutes, in the middle, and finally till the end of the film. It leaves me feeling of jubilation and satisfaction. I think I did the right thing not to find out first what it is all about. It’s quite surprise to see his film about a childhood. It totally refreshes me. There are many moments that make me smile or even laugh out loud although those don’t seem comedy. I guess a childhood theme makes his film now is more colorful, although the yellow, his favorite color, is still dominant.

Some people say that this is not reality at all, the children act like adults. Hmm..I think it’s not too right. Maybe it’s just his trademark of storytelling and I guess it’s just out of formulaic which is pretty amazing. If you want to see a real reality, see Alejandro Gonzales Innaritu’s films. I believe every director has a different style. Like what I said, maybe that is his style.

Wes Anderson (right) with the children cast

Let’s talk about the cast. The big casts seem wasted. Despite of supporting casts, their character is really underdeveloped. That’s too bad, especially for Norton and Willis. Both of them actually have a potential character to develop. The performance of two leads (Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman) are good enough, considering this is their first film. Their chemistry is connected well. They can create an eccentric character through their innocence expression and full frontal dialogue which is an Anderson’s trademark . Yeah..at their age, falling in love is such a weird thing, but still a sweet and curious moment. What a marvelous script.

Four Academy Award nominee composer, Alexandre Desplat once again shows his class by creating a good classical score that wonderfully matches with the setting and every single fun moment. He composed Anderson’s previous film, Fantastic Mr. Fox, and got Oscar nominee for that.

Bill Murray, Frances Mcdormand, Edward Norton, & Bruce Willis

So, just ignore any bad reviews about it. Just enjoy it. I can make it sure you will be awe. It’s hard to describe it any longer. For me, it’s just simple adorable that will absolutely entertain you.

–HW (7.9/10)–

One thought on “Moonrise Kingdom: Simply Adorable

  1. Pingback: Film Review: Moonrise Kingdom (2012) | M-EDIA

Leave a Reply :D

