Django Unchained: Brutally AWESOME!!


django-unchained-2012-movie-wallpaper-for-1920x1200-widescreen-11-488

Django Unchained (Quentin Tarantino, 2012)

When it comes to Tarantino’s perspective, I feel enthusiastic easily so much. Having some wild imagination and genius idea then followed with great execution in writing and acting is what I love from all of his film. I’m sure I’ll really enjoy his latest work, Django Unchained, no matter what it is all about and how long the duration is. I’ve fallen in love with his unusual unique directorial style since Reservoir Dogs (1992) and Pulp Fiction (1994).

After waiting one year since the first poster’s published, I finally fulfilled my deepest desire two days ago. I saw it with full of focus. No interruption. I let my ears, eyes, and brain digest and enjoy some extended conversation and brutal scene in this film. So, the result is…………..

Let’s just begin!

Two years before the Civil War in Western (well, Tarantino preferred to call it as a “southern” due to the reality of films setting in America’s deep south), there is a former black slave named Django (Jamie Foxx). One lucky day, he’s released by a quirky dentist who turns a bounty hunter, Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) in order to help him find and recognize three outlaw Brittle brothers. Then, they become partner as bounty hunter team. As a reward, Schultz promises Django to find and rescue his beautiful-German speaking-wife, Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) from a ruthless, brutal, and harsh Mississippi plantation owner, Calvin Candle (Leonardo Dicaprio).

Django-Unchained-10

Actually the plot is not as simple as it seems or like what you saw on trailer. It’s more complex, however Tarantino’s trademark of story teller makes everything simpler and more enjoyable. As a huge fan of Tarantino’s, I know it’s difficult to be objective of reviewing it, But what can I say? I truly love it.

I believe no one can direct a film as brutally awesome as him. You’ll see many gruesome violence scenes with (of course) full of twist, blood splattering, and sadist action which are all well executed with anachronistic music. Yeah, it’s anachronistic and imperfect. However, that is the real cool show. That is the main art of his. How adorable and I like it sooo muchh.

 Django-Unchained-31

Maybe the blood spray is so exaggerated for some action scenes that makes me even laugh. But, hey, that is exactly a Tarantino’s skill (to make an action film not to be serious but hilariously funny). Despite the vengeance theme as usual, it’s still a ride full of surprises. You’ll never know what a character will do next as the tension rises. Believe me, he knows how to hold your attention continuously.

Most people complain about the duration. Well, I don’t. I enjoy the way he packed the plot one by one through some warming up process. Yes, I felt it’s too slow and some scenes are unnecessary. Maybe it’s caused by Saly Menke who couldn’t edit his film anymore. But in other hand, I guess it makes his film deserve wait for the climax. It will make you either curious or breathtaking till the end. And once again, I enjoy every single scene.

Just like the direction, I think no one can write a script and dialogue better than he does. It’s witty, full of philosophy and analogue. He creates each main character powerfully which is difficult to go out of your mind, and then the actors give their best shot of execution too. Maybe all unique and eccentric characters are what hypnotize me to keep on the edge of my seat. If you aren’t familiar with Tarantino’s film, just like my friend who watched it with me, you’ll be wowed as you never have seen a film like this before.

 django-unchained

However, Tarantino hasn’t realized yet that his talents remain behind the camera rather than in front of it. No offense. It’s clearly very awkward to see your acting on a screen, Mister.

All cast did a phenomenal performance. Tarantino makes all casts act out of the box through his special direction style like you’ll never see them before. Waltz and Foxx who play two main characters share an impressive chemistry. Some extra casts make this film even more fun and hilarious. I remember I simply laughed at the moment when Jonah Hill and Don Johnson discuss about the bag mask before attacking Django and Dr. Schultz. Such a creative and unpredictable good interval while the tension of audience is up.

First of all, Waltz did it again. After his antagonist Oscar winner performance at Tarantino’s Inglorious Basterds (2010) as Col. Hans Landa, his performance now is simply amazing. He could keep balance marvelously between a ruthlessness of bounty hunter and a reluctant charisma of good mentor. My most favorite is the way he negotiates efficiently to people and it proves how words can be more dangerous and effective than guns. And I have no question at all why he won Golden Globe as a best supporting actor this year. I hope he will too in Oscar not so far in the future. He totally deserves it. I can’t wait for next collaboration between Waltz and Tarantino in another opportunity.

Dicaprio is an exceptional one. I guess I’ve never seen him playing a portrait of charming and cruelness antagonist like this before. As I remember, he often plays a serious “self-destruction” role for a long time. Now he offers something new here. A memorable scene of him: when he reveals three dimples from his father’s skull, he is literally frightening. Unfortunately, he gets snub from Academy as best supporting actor nominee. That’s one of the biggest mistake in Oscar this year (beside what happens to Tarantino, Affleck, Bigelow, and The Dark Knight Rises)

 DjangoUnchained4

Despite of a leading actor, I guess Foxx’s performance isn’t special enough to get balance either with Waltz or Dicaprio. His true performance comes only in last 15 minutes.

Finally, Samuel L. Jackson as a manipulative Stephen, what can I say? He is a real screen stealer of this film. Be honest, I don’t recognize him earlier.

Either the score or soundtrack is soulful, classic, and unusual, but still ear catchy. I love the way they cut it suddenly in some scenes.

 django_unchained_ver9

As this film contains a number of restricted languages and bloody violence, I guess it isn’t suitable for kids. However, it’s truly an entertaining epic just like every previous his film. It kept me not to drink and open my cell phone during approximately three hours. If you are a big fan of him, I bet you won’t miss Django Unchained. And the “D” is silent.

–HW (8.4/10)–

Leave a Reply :D

