The Theory of Everything: This is Why a Most Beautiful Score is Missing from the Soundtrack List…


https://filmrecord.wordpress.com

I actually don’t wanna talk much about this film right now. Yeah, it’s recommended for sure. The way Stephen Hawking deals with his worse condition and also the way Jane, his wife, compromises on her feeling to stand by her own family are really inspiring and heartbreaking. It’s such a good biography film with one important message: where there is life, there is always hope. And before I continue, how genuine performances here from both Eddie Redmayne & Felicity Jones!

https://filmrecord.wordpress.com
What I notice and like most from this film is nothing but the score. It’s composed beautifully by an Iceland Composer, Jóhann Jóhannsson. It’s my first time enjoying his work. He has created the score of Dennis Villeneuve’s Prisoners too, but I didn’t notice too much or maybe nothing special about his score at that time.

https://filmrecord.wordpress.com
In ‘The Theory of Everything’, he finally shows his class. All the score is beautifully magnificent. It can bring you to the deep soul of their extraordinary journey perfectly. No wonder Jóhannsson gets the Golden Globe for best original score achievement recently.

https://filmrecord.wordpress.com
And since I like to collect some high quality score (you can check it out here), I directly search and download it all. But you know what?

There are total 27 score lists apparently. My most favorite is –I don’t know the title yet- the score that shows in the last moment when the flashback comes till the main credit ends with the beauty portrait of Stephen appearance through the magnificent of solar system concept. That is literally the most amazing and powerful score. I think they can combine and match the score and the sequences elegantly. For a moment, I find myself feel sympathize, happy, respect, proud, and amazed of what Stephen has gone through so far. What a work of art! And if you are near me, you’ll absolutely get bored seeing me play that moment over and over again in front of my laptop.

https://filmrecord.wordpress.com
Back to the topic, well, after playing all 27 scores, I find myself confused and surprised that the score I love most is missing. I even re-checked again if I’ve gotten and listened all, and still, there is no that score. I felt more curious how come one most important score is missing from the soundtrack. Then I used Google to find out. After searching for a moment, I finally found some facts. Here they are.

The score I mean isn’t actually made for this film, nor composed by Jóhann Jóhannsson originally. From some trusted source, it’s basically the score for a documentary film about Flamingo bird with the complete title “The Crimson Wing: Mystery of the Flamingos” . The actual score title is “Arrival of the Birds” or you can check the long version with the title “Arrival of the Birds and Transformation”. It’s performed by The Cinematic Orchestra.

https://filmrecord.wordpress.com
After knowing the truth, I feel little disappointed. Why didn’t they use their own score for such valuable and essential sequences like that? And if they should use score from other, why didn’t they show the original composer in the first credit? Because I assume that has some special value. They just place it in the very end of the credit you know. It’s a shame, isn’t it? Since that is my most favorite score and I assume, so do many people.

Suddenly, it reminds me of Tom Hooper’s The King’s Speech (2011) where they use Beethoven’s score as their soundtrack in the crucial moment where King George VI finally does his first speech officially. I thought that is Alexander Desplat’s score at the first time. Well, Desplat finally took the pride too by getting an Oscar nominee in original score category. Thank God, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross defeated him for the real original score for The Social Network.

https://filmrecord.wordpress.com
Well, it’s just my opinion. And for somehow it keep disturbing me. Anyway, both are incidentally British film. Jóhann Jóhannsson also gets an Oscar nominee this year. Will he get his first Oscar? Considering, he’s brought the Golden Globe home. Hmm..let’s wait and see.

–HW–

Leave a Reply :D

