My Late Review of –Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)–


url

Alejandro González Iñárritu has successfully raised his awareness level of the difficulty in making a great pretentious cinema. I’ll take his statements –“Guys, this is the movie we are doing. If we fall, we fail.”– here as the most challenging film he’s ever made.

This is absolutely breathtaking in kind of different way. From the maestro behind one of the most powerful drama, Amores Perros, I may say that the true definition of masterpiece cinema has been already created. Iñárritu’s anti mainstream direction surely amazed me more this time. I still remember the way he did me through his previous works before –21 Grams, Babel, & Biutiful-, however when I saw this, I almost chose not to blink my eyes deliberately, not even just once, only to witness how long the scene would take place and survive without any cut since the first minute.

"People, they love blood. They love action. Not this talky, depressing, philosophical bullshit."

“People, they love blood. They love action. Not this talky, depressing, philosophical bullshit.”

Minute by minute passed, now it’s not only the long take direction which took my breath away, but also the blast performance of the experts. Michael Keaton, Edward Norton, Emma Stone, Naomi Watts, Andrea Riseborough, and Zach Galifianakis are the expert here. Oh God, It’s still unbelievable for me to see the way they can remember all their lines perfectly for such a very long shot. Wait, it’s not only matter of remembering line, but also their mesmerizing acting. I really gasped at those. What a deep character realization! Once again, they are the expert one. Hat’s off for the cast team.

"A man becomes a critic when he cannot be an artist, the same way that a man becomes an informer when he cannot be a soldier. "

“A man becomes a critic when he cannot be an artist, the same way that a man becomes an informer when he cannot be a soldier. “

The strong dialogue will knock your mind out and slap in the face. Some might make you wanna smile and even laugh although they clearly don’t mean to. The score composed by Antonio Sanchez is another story. Using only a drum as a simple score actually is not only a good choice to bring the audience into the revelation of the story fact and the next sequences, but also in order not to disrupt the great plot.

In the second hour, the script and the cinematography started to impress me deeply. The whole conflict suddenly spread more intense in the unexpected way, yet the direction and the performance got more fascinating. It’s obvious that Mr. Keaton really pushed himself to the limit so hard in this hour. How couldn’t you not gasp and laugh at the same time when you see the scene of Riggan running through Times Square in his underwear in the middle of people crowd then entering the studio where the play is taking place?

The ending is what makes this film even better. I love a film with a multi-interpretation ending. I still don’t know why. I just love it.

Overall, I can’t remember how many I gasp and insist myself not to blink eyes during the film. It captures full of my attention successfully through both all technicality aspect and performances. I almost have nothing to complain about. Everything is just perfect. I really don’t understand about the way people act disrespectful about this. I just feel sorry and pity for them. You know what? Maybe I don’t need to tell you, but I definitely had a very good time by enjoying this without feeling depression and thinking harder as most people say.

I believe not every director can create and achieve some dramatic and strong sequences for a long shot like these. And who thought that it turns out that a Mexican director is the one who is brave enough to bring the story about real life in Hollywood and Broadway industry brilliantly. Iñárritu has proved to the world that he has a capability to raise a cinema history into the highest level through his third consecutive awesome films to begin with the letter B after Babel (2006) and Biutiful (2010). It’s truly a rare revelation in the middle of mainstream American cinema.

Watch out Hollywood!! This son of b*tch didn’t even need any green card to steal Oscars on last February. Maybe he will again someday.

–HW (9/10)–

“It’s like a simple impulse. A very good movie simply makes me wanna write and share about it more and more for you.”  ~me

Leave a Reply :D

